• Hünegg Castle
  • Hünegg Castle
  • Hünegg Castle
  • Hünegg Castle
  • Hünegg Castle
  • Hünegg Castle

Hünegg Castle

Hilterfingen, BE
    show Website

    Hünegg Castle and Park – A magical place on lake Thun

    Hünegg Castle, with its extensive interior preserved in its entirety just as it was in 1900, is a remarkable museum of domestic life in the 19th and 20th centuries. Visitors who come to learn about the domestic culture of Historicism and Jugendstil will feel as if the castle’s former inhabitants could return at any moment and resume living their lives just as they used to.

    On the servants' floor is the Erich Liechti ship collection from Wimmis, which is dedicated to a different area of Switzerland each year.
    The Liechti shipping archive is one of the largest of its kind. In addition to a unique collection of over 140 self-built ship models, it includes original and reconstruction plans of all ships that sailed or are still sailing in Switzerland, as well as a photo archive with countless photos, pictures and books.

    The models for the architecture of Hünegg, which was constructed in 1861–1863, can be found among the Loire châteaux in France. Fittingly, this stately home lies in extensive, enchanting grounds right by Lake Thun. A meticulously laid-out public park with indigenous trees and many exotic varieties dating from when the castle was built surrounds the grand edifice. The castle terrace boasts a magnificent view of the world-famous Alps. Located in the imposing entrance hall, the museum shop offers a selection of souvenirs, while in the stylish café with its wonderful outdoor area visitors can enjoy the castle’s own-blend coffee, espresso and other delicacies.

    At Hünegg Castle, history and the lifestyle of the building’s former inhabitants come back to life. There is also a rich and diverse programme of events, with something for all ages.

    opening hours

    The castle cellar can be rented all year round.

    The Hünegg castle is in hibernation from 1 November to 13 Mai.

    The following opening hours apply from 14 Mai:

    Museum, special exhibition and castle café: 
    Monday: closed 
    Tuesday to Saturday: 2-5pm 
    Sunday and public holidays: 11am-5pm

    Brocante Royal: 
    Saturday: 2-5pm 
    Sunday: 11am-5pm

    Saturday: 2-5pm


    Park: free admission

    Individual visitors

    • Adults: CHF 10.-
    • Senior citizens and students: CHF 8.-
    • Children and young people up to age 16: CHF 5.-
    • Children up to age 6: free


    • Of 10 persons or over: CHF 8.- / visitor

    Free entrance

    • Swiss Museum Pass
    • Raiffeisencard (members)

    1 admission for 2 museums: Museum of Jugendstil and Historicist Domestic Culture & Swiss Gastronomy Museum

    visitor information

    Dogs are permitted in the park.

    The castle café and park are wheelchair-accessible.

    Free WiFi throughout the castle

    Playroom for very young visitors


    During museum opening hours: castle café with its own coffee blends.

    To order: home-made finger buffets


    Public transport

    STI bus no. 21 or 25 from Thun station, alight at the Eichbühl or Hilterfingen Post stop

    BLS ferry, alight at the Hilterfingen landing stage


    The castle is located in Hilterfingen on Lake Thun between Hünibach and Oberhofen. Two large car parks are available: one at the lower end of the estate by the lake along Staatsstrasse and another at the top end forming part of the park on Alte Thunstrasse.

    Google maps directions


    Exotic small birds, peacocks, kangaroos and rabbits in the park.

    back to overview

    you may also like these castles