A Pro Castle
Seedorf, UR show Website
The charm of A Pro Castle makes it one of the best-known tourist attractions in the Uri Canton. Surrounded by reeds and marshes, it evokes the former splendour of the dynasty of Apro knights.
The moated Castle A Pro in Seedorf was constructed between 1555 and 1558 by brothers Jakob I and Peter A Pro as a symbol and a show of their wealth. The building, surrounded by water and a crenelated wall, is a unique example of a stately home in a style situated between late Gothic and the Renaissance.
In 1578, the Uri knight Peter A Pro created a foundation for poor children. In order that this charitable institution had enough financial resources sustainably at its disposal and so that it could achieve its mission, he bequeathed on his death a large part of his lands: extensive grazing lands, scattered plots, forests and mountain pastures, but also several buildings, one of which was the stately Castle A Pro.
In the 19th century, however, this building became a heavy financial burden. Projects to turn the moated castle into a children’s home or an agricultural school came to nothing, and the building was in danger of becoming dilapidated. In 1959, the Canton of Uri acquired it for the purposes of formal gatherings and exhibitions. From 1960 to 1980, the exterior and interior of the castle were repaired.
Art historians consider Castle A Pro as one of the most beautiful moated castles of the 16th century. Situated right next to Lake Uri and the “Swiss Pass” hiking trail, it attracts a large number of tourists and is one of the best known attractions of the Uri Canton. Since 2009, the Castle A Pro restaurant has also been gaining renown beyond the borders of the canton. Managed by a young couple, it has earned 14 Gault & Millau points. On the 2nd and 3rd floors are rooms used for small art exhibitions and for presenting minerals from the canton (for example, minerals from the NLFA works).
The outbuilding next door (Sust) houses the Uri Museum of minerals. For centuries, the central Alps have been known for their extraordinary deposits of minerals and crystals. The museum showcases the greatest findings in the region in a delightful setting. The exhibition is reorganised every year. A film made with the assistance of crystal hunters who are still active rounds off the experience. With its rooms full of nooks and crannies, its underground passages, its floors of differing heights and its walls made of rubble, the building makes for a perfect setting with a mysterious atmosphere for this treasure house of minerals.
The exhibition rooms on the upper floors (Gotthard art and minerals) are open from Thursday to Sunday from 11.30 to 16.00 (during restaurant opening hours).
The Uri Museum of minerals is open from mid-May to mid-October on Thursday, Saturday and Sunday from 1 to 6 pm
Uri Museum of minerals
The castle site can be visited freely at no cost. The castle itself is open during restaurant opening hours, as are the exhibition rooms on the upper floors.
The castle is situated near the “Swiss Path” hiking trail and Lake Uri, where there are many beaches.
Only the garden is accessible for wheelchairs.
Restaurant A Pro Castle
Altdorf station then bus 403 or 404 to the bus stop « Schloss A Pro »
Auto Uri AG line 403 or 404, bus stop « Schloss A Pro »
Highway A2, exit Flüelen then direction Seedorf
In the immediate vicinity, paid parking
Aprostrasse 50, 6462 Seedorf
Castle A Pro is situated a few minutes from Lake Uri. You can easily combine a castle visit with a family outing to the different beaches of Seedorf or with a hike on the “Swiss Path”.
From May to October, the Uri Museum of minerals, situated in the former outbuilding of the castle, is a must-see! Discover the temporary exhibitions that are regularly updated. On the top floor of the castle, the Canton of Uri also showcases crystals found during construction of the Saint-Gotthard Base Tunnel.
Here you will find more ideas for activities in Seedorf or in Uri.